Chlorinated Solvents REACH consortium


The Chlorinated Solvents consortium covers 5 substances - dichloromethane (methylene chloride), chloroform (trichloromethane), carbon tetrachloride (tetrachloromethane) trichloroethylene and tetrachloroethylene (perchloroethylene). It was launched beginning of 2009, after 1 year of preparatory work.

Consortium description

The consortium members have agreed to cooperate, under the leadership of one leading company per substance in the preparation of a joint registration dossier for each of the 5 substances. The lead companies are also acting as SIEF formation facilitator and they will be the lead registrant for a joint submission of the Registration Dossier on the substance.

The Chlorinated Solvents REACH Consortium structure includes a Steering Committee, an Executive Committee and Technical Committees for the five substances. ReachCentrum will act as secretariat for the consortium.

Substances covered

The following substances are covered by the Chlorinated Solvents consortium and will have to be registered under REACH by December 2010:

Substance name EC number CAS number
Dichloromethane (Methylene Chloride) 200-838-9 75-09-2
Chloroform (Trichloromethane) 200-663-8 67-66-3
Carbon Tetrachloride (Tetrachloromethane) 200-262-8 56-23-5
Trichloroethylene 201-167-4 79-01-6
Tetrachloroethylene (Perchloroethylene) 204-825-9 127-18-4

Two consultants are working on the dossiers. The dossier will include information on harmonised classification and labelling of the substances. However, the substances are already listed in annex 6 of the regulation on classification, labelling and packaging of substances and mixtures. (Regulation 1272/2008).